About Us

We are a not-for-profit organisation celebrating the wealth of talent working across all genres of short film including live action drama, documentary, animation, music video, and work that pushes boundaries including online or mobile content, title sequences, and idents.

Our aims are to provide an arena introducing creativity, new/established practitioners and those partners that can help assist in supporting and furthering  people’s ideas.

BAFTA Seminars

From 1999 through to 2012 the work of newcomers and established filmmakers was promoted by screening work at cinemas, screening rooms and cafes throughout Soho and London’s West End. In conjunction with the competitive program we held a large variety of debates and discussions on all aspects of media and filmmaking. The event program also buit in networking and case studies.


Deluxe Soho Discussions

Our annual activities centred around a ten day festival  in July where the work of both established filmmakers and newcomers (UK and international) were joined by guest curators providing in excess of 100 film programmes and events each year

Apple Store Panels

The competitive categories were:

The International Award

The Long Form Award

The Documentary Award

The Short Film Award

The Animation Award

The Music Video Award

The Pushing Boundaries Award

The Newcomers Award

Through the year we also curate programmes of work at other festivals and events, while also encouraging production companies and organisations to view content from the most recent festival. Hopefully resulting in those filmmakers being invited to pitch on new projects and jobs as they arise.

Productions entered consistently feature a host of recognisable names and faces alongside gifted ‘unknowns’ giving everyone the opportunity to see, unmistakably, the british aptitiude for filmmaking and showcasing global filmmaking talent. Sue Johnston, James Fox, Mackenzie Crook, Dita Von Teese, David Tennant, David Thewlis, Saffron Burrows, Jimi Mistry, David Soul, Patsy Palmer, Jack Dee, Phil Jupitus, Natalie Press and Michael Sheen are but a few of the people who give their time, often for free, to play characters in these films providing an interest for a broader public audience.

At the conclusion of the festival the Rushes Awards are held to  announce the most acclaimed production from each category. Judges ranging across the creative industries vote for their prefered film, the 3 finalists from each category being invited to attend to hear the announcement, with all attendees then invited to celebrate and commiserate at a Closing Night Party.

Previous award presenters have included  Joseph Fiennes, Basement Jaxx, Fennela Woolgar, Doreen Mantle, Stuart Manning, Tim Searle, Damon Thomas, Craig Conway, Scott Capurro, Don Boyd, Michelle Dewberry, Jodie Albert, Miranda Richardson, Matt Barbet, Simon McBurney, Nicky Hambleton-Jones, Tamar Hassan, Rita Tushingham, Gail Porter, Angellica Bell, Dawn Porter, Nick Moran, Graham Norton, Sean Pertwee, Nic Roeg, Leslie Philips, Ray Winstone and Damian Lewis all of whom have been very supportive in raising awareness of the talented work seen during the festival week.

Rushes Soho Shorts Festival is also indebted to the work of their spokespeople who have included Paul Andrew Williams, Nick Moran, Con Oneill, Bill Nighy, Alison Steadman, Ray Winstone, Nick Broomfield, Geraldine James, and Charles Dance.



Comments are closed.


%d bloggers like this: